Nigeria's Super Eagles will face Sierra Leone when the 2017 Wafu Cup of Nations gets underway in September this year.

The Super Eagles have been drawn in Group A alongside hosts Ghana, The Gambia, Sierra Leone, Mali, Mauritania, Guinea and Guinea Bissau.

However the tournament has taken a distinctive format, which is different from the round-robin style.

The teams in the two groups will play single matches and the winners will go straight into the quarterfinal stage.

The Super Eagles will go up against the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone while Ghana face The Gambia.

Nigeria will play their game in Takoradi and this represents a chance for the players in the domestic league to feature in the competition.

Senegal, Liberia, Burkina Faso, Niger Republic, Ivory Coast, Togo, Benin Republic and Cape Verde make up teams in Group B of the competition.

The tournament will hold between September 9 and 24.



Ghana v The Gambia

Nigeria v Sierra Leone

Mali v Mauritania

Guinea v Guinea Bissau


Senegal v Liberia

Burkina Faso v Niger Republic

Ivory Coast v Togo

Benin Republic v Cape Verde