KAS Eupen striker Henry Onyekuru has been handed a first Nigeria invitation by head coach Gernot Rohr for the friendly matches against Corsica and Togo.

Onyekuru, who can play as a wideman, was not listed in the initial roster of 25 players by Rohr for the trip to France.

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) also confirmed that Onyekuru has been named to take up the place of Austria Vienna forward Olarenwaju Kayode who has been excused to focus on helping his club in the title run-in in the Austrian Bundesliga this month.

"Technical Adviser Gernot Rohr has called up Belgium–based forward Henry Onyekuru in place of Austria Vienna FC poacher Olanrewaju Kayode, who is being held back by club engagement," the NFF stated on Thursday.

The invitation of the 19-year-old Eupen forward has been in red-hot form, scoring 22 goals and providing nine assists this season.

He is also attracting interests from England's top flight clubs like Everton, West Brom and Southampton.

Onyekuru and 24 other players will use the friendly matches against Corsica and Togo to prepare for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying game with South Africa in June.


Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Uche Agbo (CF Granada, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Henry Onyekuru (KAS Eupen, Belgium); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Serenren-Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany); Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC)


Ola Aina (Chelsea FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)